How to clean my mac hard drive to sell

First up: You'll need to enter your Apple ID and password and then hit the Deauthorize button. Next up: You'll be asked if you want to keep a copy of your iCloud data on your Mac, but it doesn't matter how you answer because you're going to be erasing everything in a second anyway.

How to Delete Everything on a MacBook

The important thing is that you're signed out. And rest assured, the data you have stored with iCloud will remain. Choose your iMessage account, then click Sign Out. If you're handing down your old Mac to your kid or someone else in your house, then it's a good idea to unpair any Bluetooth devices from it so your mouse or keyboard controls your new Mac and doesn't interfere with your old one.

To enter recovery mode, restart your Mac and immediately press and hold Command-R. You can release the keys when you see the Apple logo. Next, you'll see the MacOS Utilities window. Choose Disk Utility , click Continue and select your startup disk -- unless you renamed it, odds are it's labeled Macintosh HD or something similar.

Next, click the Erase button at the top of the Disk Utility window and fill out these three fields:. Finally, delete everything off your Mac and then reinstall the OS X system.

How to wipe MacBook Pro without losing data

To do this, restart your computer. As it boots up, hold the Command key and R key. When you see your hard drive, select it, and then go to the "Erase" tab. Now, reinstall the OS X system. This should be an option after you erase your hard drive and exit Disk Utility. The window will show several options, but select the "Reinstall macOS" one. However, if you have an older Mac, you will need to reinstall the OS X system with the original CD that the computer came with. Turn off your laptop once the OS system is done installing.


  1. Moving to a new Mac?.
  2. mac pro airport extreme card install?
  3. How to wipe your Mac and reset it to factory settings.

To do so, hold both the Command and Q keys and then choose "Shut Down. Image Source: Tech Tips Apple MacBook. Many families have welcomed new PCs into their homes, thanks to back-to-school and Labor Day sales, leaving older computers to be donated, recycled, or sold.

That makes this a good time to learn how to perform a factory reset. What is a factory reset? That's when you wipe your computer's hard drive and reinstall its operating system. Doing this reverts your computer to its pristine state, deleting all your personal information, applications, and files in the process. Getting rid of a computer without performing a reset could put your data in the wrong hands—and you and your family at risk for identity theft.

Can't I just delete the files? Or you can miss deleting some important files altogether," he says. Google, Apple, and Microsoft have made doing a reset simple for computers running their operating systems. Once all your data has been transferred to your new machine and you're sure it's working properly, follow the steps listed below for your particular operating system. For most situations, wiping a computer with a reset will be sufficient to safeguard personal data.

So if you're handing off your old computer to a friend or sibling, or donating it to a well-known charitable organization, the steps listed below should suffice. But, to be clear, this won't deter a truly determined hacker who is intent on retrieving your files.

What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your Mac

To be completely safe, you can remove the hard drive from your PC or Mac before you let the computer out of your hands. Do that if you're selling it on eBay or know that you have highly sensitive material on the hard drive.


  • blackarmor backup software download mac!
  • mac powerbook g4 hard drive removal!
  • How to prepare a Mac for sale.
  • how to save pdf downloads on mac.
  • 3d animation erstellen freeware mac;
  • The gold standard in hard-drive security consists of using a pointy nail and a few swift swings of a hammer. Just make sure you're wearing safety glasses. Before wiping your computer, make sure to back up important files to an external drive or the cloud and disable iCloud features, such as Find My Mac, Messages, and Apple Music. You should also copy your keychains to a flash drive. Transferring these collections of account names and passwords onto your new machine will save you the hassle of re-entering the WiFi password at the local coffee shop or the login info for online retailers.

    Begin your factory reset by restarting your computer. This will reinstall the operating system that came with your Mac.

    How to prepare a Mac for sale or a return to an employer | Macworld

    Once you've done that, the Utilities window will pop up in the middle of your screen. Open the Disk Utility and erase your built-in hard disk. Make sure to select the disk, not the volume name listed beneath it. After the reinstall, the Mac will begin the setup process.